Trinity Blood- Halfway Into The Series.

I’ve stopped focusing on current/new series of the fall and went back a few years to find Trinity Blood. Yes, this series isn’t old but anything that’s not airing now in Japan, I consider it old. :P So I don’t watch them. but now, I’m starting to.

What I love about the show is the pace at which the story is told. Whenever I watch an ep, it seems to always end so quick. I get so caught up in the story and the action that I don’t think of anything else while watching it.

The problem with a fast-paced story is that you get so caught up in it that you don’t have time to take/soak in all the information that’s presented. Seriously, I have trouble with remembering characters and their names and keeping track of what’s going on.

Now, onto characters.
Characters are unique, sort of. -Only going to choose a few characters I find interesting to talk about.-

Abel Nightroad

The protagonist, Abel Nightroad, is sort of reminiscent of Vash [from Trigun] with the attitude of wanting to save everyone and not killing while upholding the facade of a ditzy person. For Vash, you can clearly see that he’s serious about not wanting to kill and take another’s life and the audience is constantly reminded of his beliefs. As for Abel, it’s brought up several times but not enough to have it completely etched into my mind that Abel absolutely abhors and doesn’t kill. It’s not emphasized enough is what I’m trying to say, I guess.

Gunslinger, or Tres

Gunslinger, or Tres, is an interesting character but there’s not much about him. 12 eps into the series and Tres seems to be semi-important since he appeared in the first few eps and again later but he’s not given enough screen time to fully develop into a character that I can relate to. All I know is, he’s a robot with emotions-in a way. Orders aren’t entirely absolute for him and it’s especially true with the witch he was ordered to kill but didn’t because he supposedly ‘didn’t have any ammunition left’. heh, he did have some left but decided not to kill the girl. It stopped there for my little Tres-kun. :P

One thing I don’t like about this series is how it suddenly portrays Abel as a helpless character who doesn’t always come out of situations victorious. I get it, he’s not super powerful and unbeatable but the situations they use to present to us that Abel is helpless at times bug me.

Ex: The Silent Noise organ-thingy. Abel could have at least prevented Kampfer from playing the organ such as cutting off Kampfer’s arms or something. He only wept as the city and its people were going the process of destruction. Destroy the bell, destroy the organ, at least do SOMETHING.Maybe it’s just me and I like to complain about stuff. Mehh.
–That Kampfer dude has one long-ass name since he added his rank and title.

Other than small issues I have with the series, overall, it’s one that I would recommend especially to those who can stand a protagonist that generally gives off a ditzy appearance despite having power and not abusing it. So if you can stand Vash from Trigun then you’ll be fine and may come to like Abel.
If you can’t stand characters like that, watch it anyways. If you don’t like it after the second episode, then I guess you should stop?

Leave a Reply

